Thursday, 4 April 2013

‘New Breed Blues with Black Popcorn’ (Kent) – Out on 29th April

‘New Breed Blues with Black Popcorn’ is a brand new selection of collectables, curios and rug-cutters for R&B fans who feel the beat and need new sounds to scratch their itch. Tracks such as Marva Josie's ‘You Lied’, Sinner Strong’s ‘Don t Knock It’ and The Idols ‘Just A Little Bit More’ seem to have been around for an eternity without being responsibly comped to CD, whereas ‘Why Oh Why’ by Austin Taylor, ‘Well I Done Got Over It’ from Bobby Mitchell and Dolores Johnson ‘What Kind Of Man Are You’ are currently raising eyebrows and overdrafts. J.J. Jackson's ‘Oo Ma Liddy’, Little Johnny Taylor's ‘Somewhere Down The Line’ and Etta James ‘Nobody Loves You (Like Me)’ are perfect for this CD. Kent's forte is the previously unissued humdinger and this CD has a handful of the best that will tempt even the most OVO (original vinyl only) of collectors to shell out for this piquant package. Two gems from earlier Ace CDs can be found in Art Wheeler’s ‘Downey side Baby We're Through’ and the Charmaines’ Fraternity number ‘Baby Please Don't Go’, while more recently issued ‘Double Locks’ by Johnny Gosey comes from last year's CD of Kent Harris R&B productions. Inevitably it is the debutantes that will steal the show and attract the more traditional R&B fan. There is a pounding blues by Freddie North from Bob Holmes tapes, when he was working with Freddie along with Slim Harpo in Nashville in the late 60s. From Los Angeles there is an Adolph Jacobs unreleased Class recording ‘Cannibal Stew’ that not only sounds like the Coasters but could possibly have them singing behind him: he was their guitarist at the time. Then we have a taster for the forthcoming Ace CD of Richard Stamz's Chicago blues productions, with a fine mover from Tony Gideon called ‘So Strange’ Finally there is a track that put the compiler into a state of frenzy, ‘When You See Me Hurt’ by Carl Lester & The Showstoppers: 2 minutes 30 secs of unadulterated hip-shaking heartbreak. He must have one now!

Track Listing: -

1. Somewhere Down The Line - Little Johnny Taylor 
2. Baby We're Through - Art Wheeler 
3. Rockin' Bed - Valerie Carr 
4. Nobody Loves You Like Me - Etta James 
5. What Kind Of Man Are You - Dolores Johnson 
6. Itchy Koo - Hank Blackman & The Killers 
7. Why Oh Why - Austin Taylor 
8. This Little Letter - James Wayne 
9. Late In The Evening - The Fran-Cettes 
10. East L.A. - Solid Jackson 
11. I'm Comin' Home - Bobby John With Jimmy Thomas, Stacy Johnson & Vernon Guy 
12. When You See Me Hurt - Carl Lester & The Showstoppers 
13. Baby Please Don't Go - Carl Edmondson With The Charmaines 
14. Mr Lonely - Freddie North 
15. Double Locks - Johnny Gosey 
16. My Baby Waited Too Long - Mamie Perry With Gus Jenkins Orchestra 
17. You Lied - Marva Josie 
18. Don't Knock It - Sinner Strong Aka Joyce Harris 
19. Just A Little Bit More - The Idols 
20. Oo Ma Liddy - J.J. Jackson & The Jackaels 
21. Cannibal Stew - Adolph Jacobs 
22. So Strange - Tony Gideon 
23. You Ought To Love Me Baby - Harold Burrage 
24. Well I Done Got Over It - Bobby Mitchell 

No comments:

Post a Comment